Peer Support Celebration Evening 2023


On 20th April 2023, Peer Support held its Annual Celebration Evening at the Whitworth Hall - our first in-person Peer Support Celebration Evening in four years! The event celebrated all the amazing achievements of our students and staff who help provide Peer Support to every first-year undergraduate at the University of Manchester.

The energy in the room was electric and it was amazing for everyone to get together to celebrate the many successes and achievements across Peer Support! It was evident that everyone really enjoyed the night. We want to thank all who came and supported the event, and for those who volunteered their time, whether it was to help create decorations or help with registration on the night!

We had an astounding set of nominations for an Outstanding Contribution Award, and a panel comprised of staff and students judged the nominees on their demonstration of the following essential criteria: commitment, leadership, and innovation.

The quality of the nominations were incredibly high this year, making the panel’s ultimate decision even harder. Overall, 11 Outstanding Contribution Awards were presented, across 15 individuals consisting of staff and students across PASS and Peer Mentoring. It was amazing to see the dedication and passion that these individuals put into their Peer Support activities this year, and we cannot wait to see what the future holds for both our esteemed winners and fantastic nominees! Well done everyone!

The full list of winners, and their schemes is below:

Alexandra Robinson (German)

Bonnie Lam and Anisah Latif (Optometry)

Sylvia Masters (BA Social Sciences)

Xueting Lyu (Econometrics)

Blake Crompton (Chemistry)

Elin Penry, Alexandra Andrei, and Yu Inamura (Criminology)

Rimsha Kausar (Sociology)

Kathryn Telling (BSc Education)

Marius Norbye (Chemical Engineering)

Christopher Jackson (Chemical Engineering)

Ingy and Nadine Abdelhalim (Computer Science)

We also presented schemes with Outstanding Scheme Awards, celebrating excellence in specific areas. We received a fantastic 35 nominations across the 5 categories and the standard of the nominations this year was very high so the awards panel, once again, had some very tough decisions to make! Thanks to all of our panel members for their hard work. We are delighted to announce that the winners of the Outstanding Scheme Awards are as follows:

Resilience: BSc Education (Runner-up: Sociology)

Innovator: Chemical Engineering (Runner-up: Psychology)

Collaboration: BA Social Sciences (Runner-up: Geography)

Legacy: German (Runner-up: Russian)

Community: Computer Science Year 2 (Runner-up: Aerospace Engineering)

Scroll down for some wonderful pictures from the evening, or click here to see our Instagram post about the event with photos, and a final thank you to everyone who has contributed to Peer Support this Academic Year! We couldn’t reach out to so many first-year students without your help. We are now eagerly awaiting next year's celebration evening!